

Minutes of a meeting of the Constitution Committee held at County Hall, Glenfield on Friday, 10 September 2010.

PRESENT

Mr. D. R. Parsons CBE CC (in the Chair)

Mr. S. J. Galton CC Prof. M. E. Preston CC Mr. Max Hunt CC Mr. N. J. Rushton CC

9. Minutes.

The minutes of the meeting held on 28 June 2010 were taken as read, confirmed and signed.

10. Question Time.

The Chief Executive reported that no questions had been received under Standing Order 35.

11. Questions asked under Standing Order 7(3) and 7(5).

The Chief Executive reported that no questions had been received under Standing Order 7(3) and 7(5).

12. Urgent Items.

There were no urgent items for consideration.

13. Declarations of interest.

The Chairman invited members who wished to do so to declare any interest in respect of items on the agenda for the meeting.

No declarations were made.

14. Review and Revision of the Constitution.

The Committee considered a report of the Chief Executive which recommended changes to the Constitution as part of this year's annual review. A copy of the report marked 'B' is filed with these minutes.

It was confirmed that the functions of the Designated Scrutiny Officer were taken from the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009.

It was suggested that the Petitions Scheme, as set out in Appendix 3 to the report, be amended to refer to the 'lead petitioner' throughout the scheme,

rather than 'organiser of the petition'. In addition, clarification should be given that officers would only decide that petition was vexatious, abusive or otherwise inappropriate in consultation with the Monitoring Officer.

RESOLVED:

- (a) That the County Council be recommended to approve the proposed changes to the Constitution as set out in Appendices 1, 2 and 3 to this report;
- (b) That the e-petitions guidance set out in Appendix 4 to this report be approved and that the Chief Executive be authorised to amend the guidance as he considers necessary in the light of experience.

10.00 am - 10.16 am 10 September 2010 **CHAIRMAN**